RSS

Exhibitionist! Part one – creepy/cute

18 Oct

Since May this year, I have been stitching busily and quietly towards an exhibition at Irving Baby! This month, I can finally swish aside the curtain and reveal some of what has consumed my time and brain for the better part of this year!

There’s quite a few pieces, so I’ll be spacing them out over a couple of posts. If you’re local, and you want to see it all at once, just head into Irving Baby! It’s located on Twin St, just off Rundle Mall, and if any pieces of stitchery catch your fancy, you can buy them for your very own!

This first post is for the creepy/cute stitchery – the juxtaposition of traditional crafting with violence and organs. My Little Death-Ray Pony is still my favorite piece of stitching in this vein. I designed it earlier this year, in response to this comic. I loved My Little Ponies when I was five, and this one appeals very much to my grown-up self.

The threaded eyeball and the anatomical heart were both cadged from my designs for Radical Craft Adelaide. However, they were originally stitched and designed for beginners kits, which limited the colours, thread count and framing options. This exhibition was a great way to reboot the designs and add a bit of refinement – adding metallic threads, using denser fabric, and choosing different colours for the threads and the backgrounds. I’m pretty chuffed with the way they’ve turned out.


In Adelaide? Head into Irving Baby! on Twin Street, just off Rundle Mall and check out the mini-gallery during October. If any pieces of stitchery catch your fancy, they are all for sale!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2011 in Craftiness

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Exhibitionist! Part one – creepy/cute

  1. MichelleThreefold

    October 19, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    I look forward to having a look! :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
