RSS

Welcome to Hogwarts

08 Jun

I am so excited to share the piece I made for this month’s Phat Quarter Swap! The theme was books, and my swap partner is a huge Harry Potter fan, so making this piece was a bit of a no brainer. I’ve always liked a challenge!

The text is pulled directly from the first Harry Potter book – it’s a Hogwarts Acceptance letter, customised for my swap partner. It’s stitched on 22 count fabric, which I stretched across an embroidery frame to get the right tension.

The letterhead is cross-stitched in metallic copper thread; the font is from an antique alphabet sampler. Dumbledore’s credentials are stitched in a gold silk thread, and the rest of the letter is just a green DMC. The bulk of the text is freehanded – I just decided on the slope of the letters, then ‘wrote’ until I hit the edge of the page. The fact that it turned out exactly A4 is more a matter of luck than of planning! Finally, the piece is mounted on an A4 sheet of stiffened, off-white felt – I just pressed the egdes into a hem, and glues it onto the reverse of the felt.

I am super pleased with the result – and my swap partner is too!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2011 in Craftiness

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Welcome to Hogwarts

  1. Anna

    June 9, 2011 at 11:20 am

    I know some boys who are gonna love this one! You can see what I made them two years ago: http://stitchbitch.blogspot.com/2009/12/we-need-little-christmas-right-this.html

     
  2. Kristen from MA

    July 10, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Brilliant!

     
  3. Lisa

    July 16, 2011 at 2:46 am

    I love this piece SO much Gemma, I can’t tell you how much or I’ll burst into tears :o)

    I finally blogged about it today, I’d been savingg it to coincide with the release of the final movie, pop over and have a look when you have a chance.

    Again, thank you, thank you, thank you!!

    http://lisasteatime.blogspot.com/2011/07/im-going-to-hogwarts.html

     
  4. Jenna

    July 23, 2011 at 5:30 am

    I sincerely hope that you will consider published this as a chart. I would love to stitch it!

     
    • crafty and devious

      July 23, 2011 at 12:43 pm

      Unfortunately, I only have the letter head as a chart – the rest I stitched freehand, because I hate charting backstitch :p
      I can post the letterhead pattern if you’d like, though :)

       
  5. Jenna

    July 23, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Oh, I would very much like it if you would post the chart for the letterhead! I can come up with an alphabet for the body myself, as long as you don’t mind me snagging the wording from you, instead of looking it up in the book. ;)

    Oh, and of course I meant to write “publishing,” not published. Whoops!

     
  6. Jenna

    July 24, 2011 at 3:02 am

    Awesome, thanks! Do you mind if I chart out the lettering based on your photo? I’d be happy to send you the chart once I’ve done it so that you can publish it.

     
    • Jenna

      July 24, 2011 at 9:09 am

      Okay, I charted the whole thing up. Can you drop me an email with where you would like me to send it? Thanks!

       
      • crafty and devious

        July 24, 2011 at 10:19 pm

        Oh, wow! If you could send it to craftyanddevious [at] gmail.com, I’d love to see it :)

         
  7. nicko

    September 8, 2014 at 11:54 pm

    I love this. Im working on it fora friend. Except im doing the gols part in a metallic blue bc i think the gold is hard to see. I was wondering howlw did you mount it. Ivw never mounted anything before. But it looks good the way it is.

     

Leave a Reply

 
