RSS

My friends get the weirdest birthday presents

04 Apr

Two of my friends had a joint birthday this weekend, and I wanted to craft something disturbing for each of them.

I asked one what she would like me to crochet for her birthday. Her reply? An ubervamp. Since we had, in fact, spent the previous weekend singing along to the Buffy musical episode, Once More With Feeling (which we both know by heart), all was understood, and away I went.

Visual references on the internet proved to be inadequate, so I was compelled to rewatch Buffy season 7. For, you know, the ubervamp research. Clearly.

This disturbingly adorable Turok-han is the result:

Adapted from the Nosferatu pattern in Creepy Cute Crochet, this misshapen, glistening-fanged, red-eyed monstrosity was happily received into its new home, where it now lurks on top of a Buffy the Vampire Slayer Collector’s Edition Box Set.

My other friend was less immediately decisive, so I decided for her. After all, what better gift for a cat person than a Zombie Kitty?

This extremely cute undead kitty is from the book Zombie Felties, a nifty collection including zombiefied puppies, ducks and bunnies.

It’s a good thing I have weird friends, otherwise they might look at me funny when they unwrapped their gifts…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 4, 2011 in Craftiness

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
