RSS

Gramophoney

08 Feb

My latest swap piece (for the Phat Quarter Music Swap) has reached its destination, so now I can finally show it off!

At the start of the swap, I asked my partner what music she liked, hoping that inspiration would strike. It didn’t. I looked at her well-thought-out list and my brain went: “yep, yep, musical taste, yep, right…now what?”

I decided that instead of stitching lyrics from a song I didn’t know, or something equally painful, I would go for music as a whole. And since I have a soft spot for gramophones, that’s the idea I went with.

I grabbed an image and twiddled it about until I had something resembling a pattern. Then, I messed about with cake plates and lamps until I had something resembling a lightbox. Then, I got to work.

However, once I’d stitched the horn of the gramophone, I was stuck. I looked at the very intricate, and yet very boring gramophone stand, and I thought “I have to do better than that”.

At this point, it all got a bit ‘meta’. It took me a long while to hit on the right idea; once I worked it out, I felt very foolish for not immediately realising what was needed:

An Ipod Gramophone.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2011 in Craftiness

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Gramophoney

  1. Manda

    February 9, 2011 at 5:44 am

    that is so freakin cool! nice work :)

     
  2. olisa

    February 9, 2011 at 9:21 am

    I love this! Very unusual and odd design. I’m sure she was thrilled to receive it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
