RSS

Nostalgia

13 Oct

Part One:

Once upon a time, my Mum knitted a beautiful, soft, baby blue, baby-sized scarf; it was made for my brother when he was really little. However, my brother is no longer really little. In fact, he is just about six feet tall.

Soemthing admirable about my brother is this: he is not a hoarder. (I myself am a hoarder, chronically so; as such, I admire ruthlesness in others.)

In any case, my brother decided that he no longer needed a scarf sized to fit a very small child.

My mother, from whom I inherited my propensity to hoard, did not really want to throw this scarf away. However, she shares my respect for ruthlessness in others, so we hit upon a compromise. I would yarnbomb it.

And so I did.

.

Part Two:

We had another Ninja Knit-In yesterday; quite a subdued one, but determined despite the rain. I was completely set on bombing one of those loop-de-loop bike racks, and I brought a couple of pre-knit pieces in different widths, to make sure I’d be able to do it.

One of my yarn tags was much too narrow; the next (another ex-scarf, but much larger, and done in moss stitch) was much too wide. But the little baby blue scarf? It was just the right width to sew onto the loop-de-loop bike rack.

And so I did:

*      *      *

I’m not quite sure where I was going with this. But I though I’d share it anyway, this strange,  subversive, nostalgic, everything-old-is-new-again…thing.

.
It was still there when I went into work today, which made me smile ludicrously.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 13, 2010 in Craftiness

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Nostalgia

  1. grandma

    October 19, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Hi Gemma – thought I’d check up on what you have been up to and scrolled right through all the pages. My, you have been a busy bee this year and still 2 months to go – can we expect something really big for Christmas? Seriously, it’s really interesting to see how things have grown and developed – well done! luv Grandma

     

Leave a Reply

 
