RSS

Meet Frank

27 Aug

Finally! The postal service has pulled through once again, and my piece for the Phat Quarter Movie Swap has landed safely.

Therefore, without further ado, meet Frank:

Frank is, of course, the skull bunny from Donnie Darko. This movie seems to have embedded itself pretty deeply on my teenage movie-going psyche; when I started to brainstorm iconic movie images for this swap, this was the one that kept coming up. I created the design myself, charting it from a cartoon-style image.

For the stitchery, I used 2 strands of very light vareigated blue-white thread, together with one strand of pure white. It’s less clear in a photo, but in person, the overall effect is … disconcerting.

Of all the cross-stitches I’ve made, I think this is one of my favourites. However, while I’m really pleased with the result, I don’t think I’d want Frank staring down from my lounge room wall.

I’m quite glad, therefore, that this piece is now safely on the other side of the planet.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2010 in Craftiness

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Meet Frank

  1. giddy

    September 6, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    I absolutely LOVE Frank! The tiny pale, pale blue & white IS disconcerting – truthfully, I thought it might glow in the dark (and I’m relieved that he doesn’t). And Frank does currently stare down on me (lol), but in my home office, not while I sleep. :)

     
  2. jeff

    February 25, 2011 at 4:24 am

    just did a random google image search.
    what is this stitching on? How do I get it on a beenie?!

     

Leave a Reply

 
