RSS

mmmmothers’ day…

09 May

I am replete. It’s Mothers’ Day, and I just cooked the most amazing dinner for my Mum.  Rich capsicum rigatoni with fresh parmesan, followed by chocolate mousse tarts with raspberry coulis. It was sooo delicious. (…I have no photos because it all got eaten way too fast. You’ll just have to trust me on this one…)

My Mum was also the recipient of some fairly unique and personalised stitchery. I’ll be posting pics once I frame it later this week – it was presented as her card, but will soon be reborn as a framed and wonderful item. Watch this space.

I also made some nice stitchery for my grandmothers.

Pink roses for my Gran:

And dark red roses for my Grandma:

They were stitched from 19th century patterns, and the finished stitching was less than three inches tall.  They were presented in some very pretty op-shopped frames.

Frankly, I think both grandmothers pretty much just pleased that I didn’t stitch any four-letter-words in there.

*     *     *

I’ve also got a bit of a nifty WIP going, for the Phat Quarter Zen Swap. But it’s a secret until the swap recipient gets it, which means no WIP shots, and it’s eating all my time, which means not much other crafty stuff to post … I hope the delayed gratification is worth it.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 9, 2010 in Craftiness, Deviousness

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “mmmmothers’ day…

  1. grandma

    May 11, 2010 at 10:39 am

    A treasured gift – ta muchly Gemma. But where are the words?! ‘I know a bank where….musk roses grow, roses are red, violets are blue, a rose red city half as old as time, my luv is like a red, red rose, red roses for a fair lady, blood red, sister rose, English unofficial rose, last rose of summer, rose of sharon, fading rose, rose by any other name, marriage..a field of battle and not a bed of roses – better stop, now I’m getting morbid! And all this without google – luv Grandma

     

Leave a Reply

 
