RSS

live long and cross-stitch

25 Mar

This week is, apparently, my Dad’s friend’s fiftieth birthday.

Unfortunately, he is a Man Who Has Abso-Fucking-Lutely Everything. Fortunately, he is also a Trekkie. It’s pretty much a given that he has any and all conceivable commercial merch, but geek craft is a completely different matter.

So, I have been commissioned to create something Trekky for The Man Who Has Abso-Fucking-Lutely Everything.

Armed with 18-count black aida and this pattern from Etsy that calls for no less than twelve different colours, I boldly went out and bought four skeins of greyscale DMC. Who needs twelve colours for a Star Trek logo? I mean, really?

Some hours, and much retinal abuse later (18-count BLACK aida? What was I thinking?!), the stitchery was complete.

Add a snazzy chrome frame, and we have a gift for the un-giftable. Done and done. The finished piece is A4 size, so I’m quite impressed that I was able to knock it off in five evenings.

A side note – this is my first actual commissioned craftiness, so I’m very slightly excited. However, since it’s a commission from my parents, I’m only getting paid with the excess aida cloth from the project. So what if I’m cheap? That’s enough fabric for at least two Bloody Shakespeare projects. Sweet!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2010 in Craftiness

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “live long and cross-stitch

  1. grandma and grandpa

    March 29, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    You made my day! Hope your Dad’s friend doesn’t have your web site!

     
  2. urban craft

    April 1, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    I am a second generation trekkie from my father’s side. Mom’s more of a star wars girl. Love this. Very cool.

     
  3. Joseph Graves

    September 26, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Looks great! Just a hint on stitching on black. Lay something white in your lap or put a light box in your lap. It makes the holes light up and you can see them easier.

     
    • crafty and devious

      September 26, 2012 at 11:19 am

      Thanks Joseph! I do this a lot, and it does make it easier. Unfortunately, the four near-identical colours I was working with added so much retinal distress, that techniques like this only made it plausible, not pleasant :p

       
  4. Claire

    October 3, 2013 at 12:26 am

    Hi, you don’t happen to still have the pattern for this do you?? It’s not available on etsy anymore but would make the perfect Christmas present for my flatmate. Great work by the way.

     
    • crafty and devious

      October 3, 2013 at 10:24 am

      Not sure if I still have it! But there are also a lot of better patterns out there, this one was a killer! Try searching for star trek cross stitch patterns, or seeing if you can get your hand on the book , it’s got some way better patterns, and a lot of libraries’ll have it (since librarians are often nerds. I say this as the nerdy librarian who purchased it for the library where I work.)

       
  5. Elizabeth

    November 9, 2013 at 10:20 am

    I’m in the same boat as Claire.. I love this pattern, but it’s not available anymore. Did you happen to find it??!

     

Leave a Reply

 
