RSS

Ninja Turtles

11 Mar

As mentioned previously, I have been stitching away at a piece for the Phat Quarter comic-themed embroidery swap. My piece has *finally* reached my partner, Shaebay, in the US (thanks a lot, Australia Post…) and so I am now able to reveal:

Ninja Turtles!

Taken from this XKCD comic, it was put together with pieces of felt, backstitch, blanket stitch and cross stitch, on hardanger fabric. (Remind me not to use hardanger again, it’s a son of  a bitch to backstitch on!) It got a bit ‘meta’, being an embroidery about a comic about a cartoon, but it is my firm belief that pie charts make everything better. (See, I promised there would be pie!)

And thinking of metadata, here’s the back of the piece.

It was mounted on framing board and laced/stitched it into place. All the metadata was stitched – partly because I liked the idea of embroidering URLs and email addresses, and partly because I couldn’t find any fabric paint or textas.

I’m rather pleased with how it all turned out, and I’m now waiting eagerly for the swap piece from my partner to arrive in the mail.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2010 in Craftiness

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Ninja Turtles

  1. Pam

    March 12, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    I LOVE anyone who stitches XKCD!

     

Leave a Reply

 
