RSS

Wombat tours – the golden jubilee

08 Mar

I am fairly exhausted; yesterday was my grandparents’ 50th wedding anniversary, and as the eldest grandchild (and only granddaughter present), I ended up doing a lot of flan-making, cake-decorating, fetching, carrying and general waitressing. Here’s the cake I decorated, which I’m rather pleased with, considering what a pain it was to do:

And here (*drumroll*) is my anniversary gift to them: a golden amigurumi wombat.

It was made from a free pattern from Amy’s Odyssey, using two strands of glittery gold thread, a crochet hook and a lot of cursing.

I should probably take a moment to explain the wombat thing, since they appear on the cake as well as in the gift. My grandparents tend to travel around Australia, jaunting off on a relatively frequent basis, and at some point they started calling themselves Wombat Tours (for reasons which are unlikely to become clear again at this point). When they arrived safely at their destination, their children (including my mum) would be informed that “the wombat has landed”, ala the moon landing.

The wombat became their mascot, and so, to celebrate their golden wedding , I made them golden wombats. Congratulations, Grandma and Grandpa (I know you’re reading this!) on your 50th anniversary.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2010 in Craftiness

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Wombat tours – the golden jubilee

  1. grandma and grandpa

    March 13, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Great work – how about a competition on what to call the Golden Wombat? Love Grandma and Grandpa PS the Golden Wombat is going on tour tomorrow

     
  2. Amy

    July 23, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Ohhh I am going to have to get myself some sparkly thread and make a sparkly wombat too now! They are fantastic!

     

Leave a Reply

 
