RSS

Crafternoon: the “pre” blog

05 Feb

Really stoked for the Crafternoon tomorrow. For the uninitiated, it’s a big(ish) subversive mixed-media crafty meet-up in the city of Adelaide. For the past few times, it has largely consisted of five hours of me teaching a whole bunch of people how to knit and do cross-stitch (which is actually a lot more fun than I thought it would be, so don’t get me wrong, here…) while eating home-baked cookies and cake.

But I’m quite excited at the possibility that this time, some of the regular, newish-to-craft attendees will be feeling cool and crafty enough to do some newbie teaching themselves. It may not happen, but it would be awesome, in a hakuna matata, circle of life kind of a way. And it also does not, in any way, preclude the eating of cookies.

Plus, we’re holding it above a library, which on its own, adds awesome points in my book. The awesome is only exacerbated by the free wifi.

It’s clear to me, reading back on this, that I’m really very excited about tomorrow. I guess some part of me just loves that I now know so many people for whom “fuck” is the first word they ever embroidered.

I’ll try to blog again just after, with shots of the Adelaidean radical crafters. If you’re Adelaidean and wanna join us, please do!

It’s gonna be rad.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 5, 2010 in Craftiness, Deviousness

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
